Scroll down to know all about the Central Vista of Today

Rashtrapati Bhavan -
The Emblem of World's Largest Democracy

The Rashtrapati Bhavan, home to the President of the world’s largest democracy, epitomizes India’s strength, its democratic traditions and secular character. Lutyens and Baker conceptualized the H shaped building, covering an area of 5 acres on a 330-acre estate. It has a total of 340 rooms spread over four floors, 2.5 kilometres of corridors and 190 acres of garden area. Joint efforts of thousands of labourers including masons, carpenters, artists, carvers, and cutters saw the completion of this masterwork in the year 1929. Originally built as the residence of the Viceroy of India, Viceroy's House as it was then called, has metamorphosed into today’s Rashtrapati Bhavan. It is emblematic of Indian democracy and its secular, plural and inclusive traditions.

North and South Blocks -
Seat of India's Administration

The Central Vista currently functions as the administrative centre of our nation. The North and South Block, and the Bhavans along Rajpath, house the administrative offices of the Government of India. Whilst the existing Central Vista complex houses 22 out of 51 Ministries, the iconic North Block and South Block buildings currently house the most important administrative institutions in the country, including the Prime Minister’s Office.

The Parliament Building -
Icon of India’s Democratic Ethos

A 93-year-old Heritage-I grade building, functioning as the legislative and parliamentary hub for one of world’s biggest democracies.

An icon of India’s democratic spirit, the Parliament Building sits at the heart of the Central Vista and houses the Rajya Sabha (Council of States) and Lok Sabha (House of the People) in separate chambers in the Parliament Building. In 2006, the Parliament Museum was also added in the Parliament Library Building to showcase the 2,500 years of rich democratic heritage to the citizens.

The Parliament building has, over the years, become an enduring symbol of India’s thriving democracy and was notified as a Grade I heritage structure by the Heritage Conservation Committee in 2009.

Kartavya Path - The Ceremonial Boulevard

Kartavya Path (previously known as Rajpath) is one of the most iconic places in Delhi, renowned for hosting the Annual Republic Day parade, showcasing India’s military prowess and cultural diversity at the global stage.

Post-independence, Kartavya Path, which extends along the 3 km stretch between The Rashtrapati Bhavan and The India Gate, was renamed; King’s Way became Rajpath and now known as Kartavya Path, which is a magnificent icon of New Delhi. Over the years, several modifications have been made to the Kartavya Path. An additional cross street (Rafi Ahmed Kidwai Marg) and node was added in order to cater to the increasing city traffic by improving north-south connectivity.

The Kartavya Path is also renowned for having a plush green cover, with complete access to citizens.

India Gate - A Tribute to the War Heroes

The India Gate is an iconic monument of India. Originally called All-India War Memorial, it is a sandstone arch that is dedicated to the troops of British India who died in wars fought between 1914 and 1919. It commemorates more than 80,000 Indian soldiers. Designed by the famous architect Edwin Lutyens, the monument is 42 meters high. The design of India Gate is almost similar to its French counterpart war memorial, the Arc-de-Triomphe.

National War Memorial

The National War Memorial is a 40-acre memorial devoted to war heroes from 1947 through the end of 2017. Its design was chosen in a worldwide competition. The complex is a memorial to Indian troops' sacrifices, with the names of 25,942 martyrs carved in stone in gold letters for posterity.

Click here to visit the National War Memorial website

Illuminated Central Vista (Click here to view the video )

The Rashtrapati Bhavan, North and South Block, Parliament Building and India Gate are illuminated daily between 7 PM and 5 AM with the new dynamic LED facade lighting that changes colour every few seconds. The system is equipped with dimming feature. The lighting system is dynamic, and comprises of 16 million colour patterns, offering an enhanced aesthetic experience. The LED dynamic facade lighting was inaugurated by the Hon’ble Prime Minister of India on 11th August 2017.

Office Buildings of the Central Vista

Post-independence, the Central Secretariat buildings such as Udyog Bhawan, Nirman Bhawan, Shastri Bhawan, Rail Bhawan and Krishi Bhawan were constructed during 1956 - 1968 to cater to the increased demand for office spaces, required for the Central Government Ministries. These additions were built to address the immediate need for office spaces, besides the original master plan of Central Vista.

Click on the images to know more

Udyog Bhawan

Udyog Bhawan was designed by R.I. Gehlote as a ‘Building for Governance’ in the year 1957. It currently houses the Ministry of Commerce and Industry, Ministry of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises, Ministry Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises, Ministry of Steel etc.

Shastri Bhawan

Named after India's second Prime Minister Lal Bahadur Shastri, the building houses several Ministries of Government of India, including, Law & Justice, Information & Broadcasting, Corporate Affairs, Chemicals and Petrochemicals, Culture, Women & Child Development, Education, Petroleum & Natural Gas, Chemicals and Fertilizers, Youth Affairs, Social Justice & Empowerment, Family Welfare etc.

Nirman Bhawan

Located in the Rajpath area, Nirman Bhavan houses the office of Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs (MoHUA) and Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Government of India.

Rail Bhawan

Rail Bhavan is the headquarters of the Indian Railways. It is located at Raisina Road, near the Sansad Bhavan (Parliament House). The Ministry of Railways functions from this building and it frames the policies and guidelines of railway operations all over India.

Krishi Bhawan

Krishi Bhavan houses the offices of Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers’ Welfare, Ministry of Rural Development, Ministry of Food, Public Distribution and Consumer Affairs and Ministry of Animal Husbandry, Fisheries and Dairy.